Sunshine on Four Feet

The journey of a new service dog handler

An Update, Finally!

Leave a comment

Well, it turns out that I’ll be working with an individual professional trainer instead of a full program to get my service dog. I will have a private trainer from the original program I’d been working with who will train my SD for me, so this is still someone I know and am familiar with.

My trainer says that she found someone to do the puppy raising portion of training! This means that there are no more hoops to jump through before assessing candidate puppies and purchasing one, aside from the small detail of fundraising! I’m so excited to learn that finally we can actually make some progress toward my ultimate goal! I’ve been waiting for a SD since spring 2011, I believe.

I am still fundraising through my Etsy shop, selling my handmade beaded jewelry.

Leave a comment